Thoughts · Uncategorized

Sunday’s are a day for rest (and relentless reflection that might drive you insane)

It’s been one of those days ladies and gentlemen.
You know, those days where you lay in bed all day and spend your time reflecting on life and its transient nature, only to come to the boring, albeit startling, revelation: “How the hell did I get here?”

For instance, I’m about to begin law school in the fall and that terrifies me. Do I want to be a lawyer? Is it something I truly want to do? Am I happy with this decision?

I’m also still talking to my ex. Is that smart? What’s going to happen when I leave for school? Are we wasting each other’s time by talking but not dating? Are we stuck in a rut where we can’t move on from each other, but we also aren’t ready to be with each other after the shit-show that was our past relationship?

These are the things I don’t really deal with and leave for another day. Today, however, it seems my brain finally had enough of my procrastination and made me sit down and think. Ugh.

I still don’t have the answers. Do I want to be a lawyer all my life? Hell no!

I’ll let you in on a (sort of) secret: I want to write. I want to be a best-selling author, I want to create worlds with my words. I want to create a space where my imagination can run wild and others can join in on the fun. I want people to know me through my wild stories. I want to inspire wonder in readers.

So, starting tomorrow, I’m going to write my future best-seller. I began writing a novel 2 years ago, but I always discouraged myself from continuing. I’m going to make it my goal to finish the book before school begins, or a rough first draft at least. Anyone interested in reading my first chapter?

As for matters with my ex…I’ll deal with that tomorrow (maybe).

 

2 thoughts on “Sunday’s are a day for rest (and relentless reflection that might drive you insane)

  1. Ah!! I get so happy to see other writers chasing after this dream too.
    My worst doubts are all about the conflict between being a writer and working with something else to earn money. It’s hard, but nothing can take this love we have for words.
    And you said it so well “I want to inspire wonder in readers.”
    I wish you the best on this journey
    Good luck writing!
    TvT

    (And I would love to read your first chapter!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

